When I was a kid, I used to watch a cartoon where the character loved the phrase: “Shiver me timbers!” I don’t quite remember what it’s called now, but the moment I read the word “shiver” it was what came to mind.

I guess what I’m saying is, the word SHIVER brought me back to a time when life was so much simpler. As an adult, I now realize how complicated life can get very quickly. Isn’t it ironic that children nowadays seem to be in a hurry to grow up? We see kids playing dress up, mimicking mom or dad, wearing their shoes and their clothes; playing house and pretending to be the parent. Little do they know that with all the things they think adults enjoy come the responsibilities one must take, challenges one must meet and decisions one must make.

Then you get to the teenagers who seem to think they are all grown up and know it all. Honey, you’re just at the tip of the iceberg. The worries of what clothes to wear tomorrow, or who your crush is going on a date with, or even just worrying whether you are cool or not, really is nothing compared to the  problems adults have to face. The weight of being responsible for the consequences of every decision we make, what the outcome will be and whether we can handle it or not just keeps niggling in the back of our minds.

Hmmm…in retrospect, I think that whatever stage of life we are in, we will always have responsibilties and challenges we will need to face. And while we are there, we will always think that the next stage must be easier or the previous stage so much simpler.

*sigh (with a shrug)

“Shiver me timbers! I should just stop worrying about life and go with the flow. Take it as it comes and deal with it, because life is a journey full of adventures and challenges. And depending on how we face it and live it, we may find it enjoyable or full of misery. In the end, it is all up to us. We can make it colourful and full of joy or we can make it dull, and miserable. ”

So LIVE, and LET LIVE.

 

