It was almost midnight and a light fog settled on the highway. Every now and then another car would drive by in the opposite direction.

“I guess the weather people were right when they gave that fog advisory,” I commented.

“It’s not so bad,” Scott replied.

I shrugged and went back to playing with my phone.

After a few minutes, I felt the car slow down just a bit.

“I guess there are some patches where the fog is thicker.”

I looked up Towards the highway and out of the corner of my eye, I saw a dark shadow standing at the side of the road, and in the next instant it seemed to zoom across the road. A fleeting thought of “vampire” crossed my mind. I turned my gaze to my boyfriend, but Scott didn’t seem to notice as he didn’t react at all.

“That’s what you get for reading too many paranormal and fantasy novels,” I smiled to myself.

“Did you say something?”

“Nope.”

“Okay.”

The fog seemed to thin out as we drove nearer to the city. Near the exit ramp we were supposed to take, I happened to look up once again. The lights here were not working and the side of the road was a bit dark. Was there another shadow by the light post we just passed? I looked back but couldn’t see in the dark. Just as I was about to turn to the front, something moved in the shadows as we drove further away.

What were these shadows in the night? The first one I saw I could have passed off as my vivid imagination, but to see another one after several miles and actually notice some movement, I’ve got to wonder.

img_0052Could there be something out there that goes bump in the night? Specially with the fog and the distinct absence of the moon in the sky?

